[Album Review] Shine Forever (1st Repackaged Album) – Monsta X

Explained previously, due to time constraints, I missed the opportunity to do a review for the first album released by Monsta X. The Clan 2.5: The Final Chapter was released back in March this year, with Beautiful as the main title track. The group then went on to release a repackaged version, Shine Forever, last week, which features two new tracks. Today’s full album review will consist of comments for all songs present on both albums.

Image result for monsta x shine forever album
Shine Forever Album Cover


1..Shine ForeverClick here to read the full review for Shine Forever. (8/10)

2. GravityGravity is a much more slower and melodic song, compared to the first song on this album. It’s not a bad thing, though. Monsta X nails this song as well, as it shows that the group is versatile and can easily accomplish that. The vocals are amazing here and the rapping fits the slower style spectacularly. I normally hear Jooheon and I.M in more hard and impactful songs, yet here they sound more soft and soulful. Honestly, Gravity is an amazing song that catches you by surprise, given the group’s known tracks. (9/10)

3. Ready Or Not – The original album opened up with Ready or Not, which is a great kick starter to the album. It’s title literally asks the right question: are you Ready or Not for the group’s album. Though a part of me would love to hear more intensity in this track, it does hype you up for the rest of the album. The song itself is quite catchy. (8/10)

4. Beautiful (아름다워)Click here to read the full review for Beautiful. (9/10)

5. Incomparable (넘사벽) – To me, the song feels like a RnB infused dance track, which sounds good. But rather than an infusion or mix, the song tends to be either RnB or dance. There seemed to be no in-between. It also wasn’t memorable. Often, I forgot about the song as soon it was over or was more invested in picking another song off the album to skip to. (6.5/10)

6. Need U (니가 필요해) – What I like about the song is the simple chorus. Clean, simple and not overcomplicated by various (and sometimes un-needed) components. It also had a catchy and cheerful tone. All their previous songs have been more serious in nature, so it was nice to have a song that feels cheerful. Though, there were times that it did feel like a generic KPOP song. (8/10)

7. Oi – This song reminded me of their earlier stuff. From the instrumental to the intensity of their vocals, it all felt like a throwback to their debut title track. Saying that I wasn’t much of a fan of their debut tracks. Yet, I thought this song was dynamic and felt like it matches more of their recent stuff as well. The rappers felt like they belong to this sound, as well. (8/10)

8. Miss You – I think I found the first gem for this album. I love the sound of this song, in general. Sounded like music that I grew up with. The ‘Where you at?” and “Baby, I Miss You” lines were super great hooks for this song. It’s instrumental was pretty good as well. And the vocals and raps were on point throughout the same song. (9/10)

9. Calm Down – First listen in, I thought the track felt like a Beautiful 2.0. Is that a good thing, I don’t know. But I am totally digging the track. It packs a punch with the intense instrumentals and hypes you up (somewhat). But then the song cuts to a more dynamic sound once they start telling you to “Stop” and “Calm Down“. Also loved that rap sequence by Jooheon in the song. (9/10)

10. All I Do (너만 생각해) –  The track comes off as a poppy number, which has its moments. Its sound fits the Summer vibes quite nicely. But overall, it felt very bland and forgettable for the most part. The rapping felt a little too serious for the rest of the pop centred song. (7/10)

11. 5:14 (Last Page) – Following the dominating and intense songs, we finally reach a slower pace song. It sounds nice. From the vocals to the instrumental, everything felt just right. And that is the most descriptive way I can put the song. It was still upbeat, so it wasn’t a sudden move between genres, which is also one of the positives to the song. (8/10)

12. I’ll Be There (넌 어때) – The mandatory ballad cannot escape the synthetic synths that were used consistently throughout the album. But there is a strong melody in this song that any other song on the album and their vocals/raps are pretty good in this song. There is a very annoying “Hi” present in the background, which really distracted me from the song. (7.5/10)

Overall Album Review – 7.5/10

Related image
The Clan Part 2.5: The Final Chapter Album Cover



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s