[Album Review] Sunrise (1st Full Album) – DAY6

A little while back I wrote the review for I Smile, DAY6’s main title track for the month of June. I also had plans to do a half year review of DAY6’s other tracks, which were released alongside the main title tracks each month. But when I heard they were going to release an album consisting of all those songs, I decided to do an album review (which would have been the same thing in the end) instead. Just writing this made me confirm a few things: 1) DAY6 is one amazingly talented band. 2) DAY6 have amazing songs to listen to. 3) I am super excited to see what else the group has installed for the remaining half of the year. So without further ado, this is my review for their first full-length album.

I Smile (Full Album) Album Cover

1..Lean On Me (오늘은 내게) – Lean On Me is the additional single that was dropped alongside their main June single, I Smile. The song takes you back to the rock roots of the band, with the dominating electric guitar riffs and banging instrumental. Out of their tracks, this one is probably the one additional single that they have released that I instantly enjoyed within the first listen. Their vocal work is amazing, nonetheless, which will be something that I will mention constantly throughout the reviews. (9/10)

2. I Smile (반드시 웃는다)Click here to read the full review of I Smile (released in June) (9/10)

3. Man In A Movie – This is the additional single that was dropped with their May release. Just by comparing the first three tracks, you can tell that DAY6 is extremely versatile with their sound. The song is catchy with a nice retro style. As the song progresses, it builds up very interestingly ends in a very dramatic way, which I liked. The instrumental is striking though and per usual, their vocal work is very good. (8/10)

4. I Wait (아 왜)Click here to read the full review of I Wait (released in January) (9/10)

5. How Can I Say (어떻게 말해)Click here to read the full review of How Can I Say (released in March) (8/10)

6. Letting Go (놓아 놓아 놓아) (Rebooted Version)Not being reviewed as the original version was previously released in 2016, so you can check out the review here. (8.5/10)

7. I Would (그럴 텐데) – This song was released as part of their March monthly release. It started off slow and was another song that you could easily sway along to. But the instrumental kicked in and that caught me off guard. Don’t know what I was expecting, but the instrumental did a good job at creeping up on me. It isn’t their best song the album, but it was still amazing to listen to. It did leave a long impression on me with its contrasts between the slower verses and the somewhat faster choruses. (7/10)

8. Goodbye Winter (겨울이 간다) – Goodbye Winter was released alongside I Wait in January. Another song that started of slow but the instrumental turned wild once it all kicked in. It was almost like an explosion and very good one at that. It provided enough intensity to blow my mind away. It does remain slow throughout, but still very intense. (8/10)

9. I’m Serious (장난 아닌데)Click here to read the full review for I’m Serious (released in April) (7.5/10)

10. Say Wow – Say Wow was released in April. If you know me, I am a sucker when it comes to violins and songs with an orchestral sound. This track sounds amazing. It is also fitting for an anime opening, especially during the chorus. Put those together and you have a winning formula. Though the song doesn’t have the level of intensity (which has been mentioned a number of times already), that doesn’t impact the song in any way. But it makes that up by being catchy and an addictive number to listen to. (10/10)

11. Dance DanceClick Here to read the full review for Dance Dance (released in May) (10/10)

12. My Day – This song was released back in February. Since I have been praising the entire album, I should be extremely critical. The song has a nice buildup, what comes after the buildup was pretty disappointing. It has to be the weakest song out of the lot. But if I was honest, the weakest song (being this one) on the album is still pretty good. (6/10)

13. You Were Beautiful (예뻤어)Click here to read the full review for You Were Beautiful (released in February) (8.5/10)

14. Congratulations (Final Version) – Not being reviewed as the original version was previously released in 2015, so you can check out the review here. (9/10)

Overall Album Rating – 8/10

Image result for day6 gif

recommended red round grunge vintage ribbon stamp

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s