[Album Review] Shoot Me: Youth Part 1 (3rd Mini Album) – DAY6

Today’s album review is DAY6’s latest release, Shoot Me: Youth Part 1. Given the title, it suggests there will be a continuation of this album, which I am highly anticipating.  While there are a few albums released prior to this one that I should be reviewing, I had to push this one up due to the quality of the music! On top of that, Young K penned each song, which I thought was really cool. If you want some good music, continue reading cause that is what you will get!

Shoot Me: Youth Part 1 Album Cover

1..WARNING! – Starting off the album is a rock number. It is a great yet very intense opener. There were a few interesting aspects that make the song stand out. The opening words (‘It’s dangerous’) were sung in a way that I thought was very intriguing and appealing. The silence just before the choruses created suspense and really allowed Jae’s voice to pop. I thought the ‘Warning’ (sung by Dowoon, according to comments on YouTube) was highly appropriate and what I had expected with a song titled as so. The execution of the vocals and melody was also well done. (9/10)

2. Shoot Me (Title Track)Click here to read the full review of Shoot Me. (10/10)

3. Somehow (어쩌다 보니) – The presence of the keyboard throughout the song what drew me to the song initially. Despite that, the song can be described as a breakup song with an intense rock instrumental. The build-up to the chorus was spectacular and this can be attributed to the presence of the drums (which was amazing throughout the entire song). The bridge brought everything down, which was rather interesting in my opinion. It cuts the intensity, providing some relief and gives a moment of fragility to the song, which in turn compliments the lyrics (though I am not sure if this is its intention). (9/10)

4. Feeling GoodFeeling Good tones down the explosive nature seen in each of the three preceding songs, opting for a much more poppy and brighter instrumental. There is also an experimental nature within its sound, which I thought worked really well. The atmosphere that came off from the song was rather positive, which makes it quite attractive. I liked the catchiness of the hooks, which makes it become an addictive side track to listen to. I also liked the ‘zap’ into the chorus. While this is just a small detail within the song, it definitely goes a long way for me. (9/10)

5. Talking To (혼잣말)Talking To felt retro to me. Not sure if it is even a valid description to the song but I thought that was the case with the hollow/echo-y effect placed onto the vocals at the start. I really liked the inserts of background vocals throughout the verses, which felt cool. I also thought it was interesting how this was the only song with rapping in it, which was decent sounding. Standout vocals from Jae, particularly during the bridge. Other than that, I thought the song could have benefited from a more exciting drop. But it still a good song. (8/10)

6. Still (원하니까) – At first, I had my doubts about the song but with multiple listens afterwards, it turns out to be a quite beautiful sounding song. Still is the closest song to a ballad. It reminds me of some of the songs from their monthly project last year. The emotions could be felt via the vocals. I thought the instrumental was well balanced and didn’t overpower the vocals (which were amazing). Its calm nature ended the album on a good note. (8.5/10)

Overall Album Rating – 8.9/10

DAY6 Shoot Me: Youth Part 1 Teaser Image

recommended red round grunge vintage ribbon stamp

One thought on “[Album Review] Shoot Me: Youth Part 1 (3rd Mini Album) – DAY6

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s