[Album Review] I NEVER DIE (1st Studio Album) – (G)I-DLE

I jump back to mid-March for the next album review. More specifically, (G)I-DLE’s first studio length album since their debut in 2017. It is titled I NEVER DIE, and features the title track TOMBOY. Since the release of this album and TOMBOY, the group has embarked on their first world tour and Miyeon also made her solo debut with Drive. An album review for her release is coming tomorrow, so keep your eyes out for that.

I NEVER DIE features 8 tracks, which includes the title track. It is a strong album from the group, as I would recommend all of them to any new listeners. There are different genres, so I am sure everyone will find something they will enjoy. I NEVER DIE is a momentous release. Not only is this release their first studio length album, but it is also the first release since the group’s reformation as a quintet. And if this album is the basis as their future as a five member group, the group has it in the bag. That may or may not be a failed pun in reference to the trendy MY BAG single, which is featured on this album as well.

I NEVER DIE Album Cover

1. TOMBOY (Title Track) – Since the release of the TOMBOY, the song has grown on my considerably. Hence, I have decided to increase the song ranking for TOMBOY from a 6.5/10 to an 8/10. I will address this in a future post on the blog. Click here to read the original review for TOMBOY. (8/10)

2. Never Stop Me (말리지 마) – Following the title track is the awesome pop rock, Never Stop Me. It brings me back to the early 2000s when pop rock was the rage (a time that I wouldn’t mind reliving music wise, as I grew up in that era). I love the energy that is exuded from the song, especially during the blastful chorus. I did think some of the vocals could have been tweaked to be a lower register, as the higher pitched vocals just didn’t fit in. (8/10)

3. VILLAIN DIES – I just love the haunting side of this track, with the use of the bass and violins in the instrumental of this electro-pop anthem. The haunting nature extends over to the vocals as well, particularly in the pre-chorus. The anti-drop of a chorus was also very cool, and I think it would enable a great performance on stage. I also liked how the song ended, bringing that haunting vibe full circle. However, I wished there was a tidbit of instrumentation at the very to feel fully complete. (9/10)

4. ALREADYALREADY dials the music back a bit, dipping into R&B territory. The instrumental is sleek and refined, bubbling away in the background. At one point, the instrumental enters dramatic territory, with a militaristic drumming being the focal point for the instrumental/dance break. I quite enjoyed the consistency behind the vocals and melodies in this song. I think this helped ALREADY become so balanced and distilled. (8/10)

5. POLAROID – Also dipping into R&B territory is POLAROID, which I thought was a fantastic song. The acoustic guitar instrumental was stunningly beautiful. What this track does extremely well is that it highlights the members’ vocals. The airy tone they give to each end of each line in the chorus made the English so memorable. The melodies are stunning and so drifty to listen to. (10/10)

6. ESCAPE – (G)I-DLE bring a taste of euro-pop to the album with ESCAPE. I find the instrumental to be quite atmospheric, chill and laidback. I enjoyed the zing that the rock elements bring to ESCAPE, and I feel this song is super perfect for a breezy road trip down the coast. Again, standout vocals in this track. And the melodies and hooks are very enjoyable. I just wished the ending eased us out, rather than just ending as it did. (9/10)

7. LIAR LIAR brings back the amped up energy and vibes with this rock centric song. ‘Amped up’ is the right phrase, as they do not mess around with this bolstered instrumental. I love the rock feel of LIAR, head banging along to the music. However, I am not too keen on the glitches in the instrumental. I think this is their way of giving the rock genre a more modern take. But it felt unneeded. I really liked the vocals, with Yuqi suiting this style of music. The hooks could have been more profound, given the domination of the instrumentation in this song. (8.5/10)

8. MY BAG – The album ends with a hip-hop song. Personally, MY BAG is not my cup of tea. But even I admit that it is a banger, and I can see why it was chosen as a secondary promotional track and why it has caught on with some listeners. Listening to this song, I feel cool, hip and on trend (sorry if I sound like a grandparent). (8/10)

Overall Album Rating – 8.6/10

I NEVER DIE Teaser Image

3 thoughts on “[Album Review] I NEVER DIE (1st Studio Album) – (G)I-DLE

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s