[Album Review] Go Live (4th Mini Album) – ONF

Album reviews will be released daily for the next week so that I can catch up on album reviews and make up for the past week of album reviews that I did not write. 

Today, we will be having a dive into an album review from the start of October. I know that seems like a fairly long time ago, given how we are now at the end of November. But it is a very important album review as all the songs are rocking. ONF released GO LIVE on 7th of October and it features the title track Why (link below). While trying to plan my schedule of album reviews, I was initially going to bypass this album. But upon a closer listen (and I am glad I did), I realized that this album should be skipped. Let’s find out why (pun unintended).

GO LIVE Album Cover

1. Why (Title Track)Click here to read the full review for Why. (9.5/10)

2. Asteroid (소행성) – When I listen to Asteroid, I keep on getting throwbacks to Complete, which is what I consider to be their best title track yet. It might be the slight brass we get in the instrumental or the combination of brass and upbeat elements from the chorus that reminds me of that past track. With that in mind, I think there is enough in this track to be a contender for lead single position. It is a fun song that has great energy and feels memorable. I think the vocals are fantastic and the lyrics/melody are quite addictive (so does the ‘No~” repetition). I like how smooth the rapping felt but I think the song would have been enhanced with a more impactful and intense rap sequence. (9/10)

3. All Day (억x억)All Day is a track you would want to put on when you are driving with friends. It just has that inclusive feel that makes it ideal for that setting. The chorus and post-chorus hook feature all the members singing together, which is where the inclusive feeling comes from. The rest of the song is rather light and upbeat, making it perfect for a car ride. The rapping does take it up a notch by making the song a little more explosive towards the end. I liked the development of this track and it is another fun song to listen to. (9/10)

4. Moscow Moscow – How sleek does Moscow Moscow sound? It is my pick of ‘hidden gem’ status on this mini-album, which already contains a handful of amazing songs. Moscow Moscow is like a smooth ballad-like dance track. It is a very captivating track as I don’t think any other KPOP group has ever attempted a song of this nature. There is a subtle level of intensity, which I think makes the song very interesting. And it never develops into a ‘hard-hitting’ track, keeping smooth and calm for the entire 3 and a half minutes run. The song also draws out their vocals and rapping skills, which adds to the success of the track. The latter was exceptionally well done by Wyatt, who voice goes down low impressively. (10/10)

5. Twinkle Twinkle – ONF ends the song by incorporating the widely known nursery rhyme, Twinkle Twinkle, into this song. When you look over the translations of the song, you find the song to be quite cute and sweet. Miles away from the version of ONF we got in Why. I like the beat in this song and even though the song is directed towards me, I can’t help bobbing along and smiling throughout the track. Wyatt departs from his usual hard style of rapping by making his part a little more fun, while the other members sound quite nice and lively. I also like the bright colour that comes from the song. (9/10)

Overall Album Rating – 9.3/10

GO LIVE Teaser Image

recommended red round grunge vintage ribbon stamp


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s