[Album Review] ODDINARY (6th Mini Album) – Stray Kids

Over the last week or so, I have been reviewing some of Stray Kids’ older (given that they did release new music at the start of this week – I will be reviewing it soon!) but recent releases. And this is all in preparation for this particular album review. ODDINARY is the group’s 6th mini-album, and was released back in March of this year. Headlining this mini-album is the title track MANIAC. But like their recent comebacks, there have been multiple music videos for different tracks as part of the promotions for their comeback. For this mini-album, VENOM, FEVER and Lonely St. all got the music video treatment alongside the title track.

But that is not all, ODDINARY also features 3 additional tracks (one full group and two unit tracks), giving this album a grand total of seven songs. And ODDINARY is another solid release from the group (though not their best to date). The tracks are right up Stray Kids’ alley and were all pretty much cool in their own way. There was a range of good to amazing tracks, with the mini-album containing another 10/10 track on this album, in my opinion. Find out which one by reading onwards.

ODDINARY Album Cover

1. VENOM (거미줄)Click here to read the full review for VENOM. (7/10)

2. MANIAC (Title Track)Click here to read the full review for MANIAC. (8/10)

3. Charmer – The first track on the mini-album to not get a music video is Charmer. I quite like this song for the catchy flute work we get in the instrumental-centric chorus. It is quite a focal point for such a hefty and serious sounding track like Charmer. The rest of the track falls squarely into Stray Kids comfort zone of hip-hop and raps, just without the noisy EDM that has become synonymous with Stray Kids’ title tracks. All of this is makes Charmer a strong track. There was also a great display of vocals, especially when all the instrumental was all stripped away. (8/10)

4. FREEZE (땡)Click here to read the full review for FREEZE. (9/10)

5. Lonely St.Click here to read the full review for Lonely St. (7.5/10)

6. Waiting For Us (피어난다)Waiting For Us is the first of two unit tracks. It features Bangchan, Lee Know, Seungmin and I.N, with the quartet giving us this atmospheric rock ballad. My first impression of this song remains vividly in my mind, simply because it was stunning the first time around and it still is! The vocal work in this song was spectacular and riveting, especially the harmonies during bridge. In particular, Lee Know genuinely surprised me with his ability to keep on par with the other members in this song. The melodies were so drifty, and I really liked the kick and amplification of everything during the chorus. It was all captivating, and that earns this song a 10/10. (10/10)

7. Muddy Waters – The other half of the group (Changbin, Han, Hyunjin and Felix) show off their rapping skills with this old school hip-hop track. Again, I am not a hip-hop or even a rap song person. But Muddy Waters was definitely cool and hip. I really enjoyed the jazzy roots of the instrumentation, which gave the song a golden and vintage type of feel. The members went hard with their raps, impressing me with their delivery. Altogether, we have a groovy and enjoyable track to round out the album. (9/10)

Overall Album Rating – 8.4/10

ODDINARY Teaser Image

2 thoughts on “[Album Review] ODDINARY (6th Mini Album) – Stray Kids

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s