[Album Review] Crazy In Love (1st Studio Album) – ITZY

As teased in my latest song review, the next album review on this blog would be for ITZY’s first studio-length album, Crazy In Love, which is headlined by the title track LOCO and the follow-up single, SWIPE. The album dropped on 24 September of this year. In addition to the two already mentioned songs, Crazy In Love also features 7 other new songs from the group, an English version of the title track, and instrumentals for LOCO and all their past title tracks (from DALLA DALLA to M.A.F.I.A (In The Morning). I thought the addition of all the instrumentals were interesting. To sum up my thoughts on the entire album before we delve into each song, Crazy In Love is a pretty good album with some awesome songs on there. It definitely reiterates a lot of characteristics of the group, including their youthfulness, vibrancy and edginess. Anyhow, on with the rest of the album review!

Crazy In Love Album Cover

1. LOCO (Title Track) – Click here for the full review for LOCO. (9/10)

2. SWIPE Click here for the full review for SWIPE. (6.5/10)

3. Sooo Lucky – Bubbly and fun is how I would describe Sooo LUCKY. I really enjoyed this song, especially following the likes of both the title and follow-up promotion track. It delves into a pop territory that freshens up the group’s tracklist, features a prominent guitar presence in its instrumentation that adds to the fresh energy, and features a catchy chorus (both hook and melody wise) that has me hooked. The song is suitable for Summer and showcases a fun side of the group that I would like to hear more in the future. (9/10)

4. #Twenty – Returning to the hip-hop transmission of this album is #Twenty. I liked the clashing percussion throughout the song, reminding me of the 90s. The rapping was very cool, with the rappers showcasing their skills with rapid delivery of their lines. Here is where I think the song might break for some. The pre-chorus was sugary and pretty random. I personally enjoyed it and felt like it fit in with the theme behind the song. This is followed by a chorus that really concentrates the hip-hop genre into a dynamic and powerful centerpiece. Though I can understand if someone was to say it feels empty and soulless. The bridge upticks the energy with a sparkly and thumping background. Overall, a fun song for me. (9/10)

5. B [OO] M-BOXX – When B [OO] M-BOXX kicked off, I was reminded of some of ITZY’s past instrumental. This is definitely exciting, as I think B [OO] M-BOXX could have been a title track for the group. It is a dynamic pop track and features a fun and catchy chorus, with the booming bass fitting for the song titled B [OO] M-BOXX. The vocals and rapping in this song highlight the skills of the group and they add a depth of appeal that makes this song more than just flair and noise. Definitely one of my favourites of this album. (10/10)

6. Gas Me UpGas Me Up, once again, returns the group to the hip-hop genre, with a rap centric song. Personally, I wasn’t much of a fan of this song. I found the rapping to be on the lazy side of the spectrum, and I didn’t like the drawn-out vocals to match the rapping style. Gas Me Up also had a plain instrumental that I didn’t remember much of. Sadly, a skippable song in my mind. (6/10)

7. Love Is Love Is a good song, but it isn’t the best. I liked the song’s pop direction and the energy explosion we get as part of the chorus. Vocals and rapping-wise, the group nailed it in Love Is. I just wish the song was a bit less predictable and more innovative. That would have made the song more memorable for me. (7/10)

8. Chillin’ Chillin’ – Another pop track greets us on this album. Chillin’ Chillin’ is another step up compared to the songs directly preceding it. It is a bit standard, but I still enjoyed the energy that comes from the chorus of Chillin’ Chillin’. I also enjoyed the members’ vocals in this song, especially since they sounded very sweet throughout this song. The rapping was also quite nice and didn’t feel overly heavy for a song about unwinding. The melodies and hooks were pleasant and enjoyable. (8/10)

9. Mirror – The final new song on the album is a ballad. No surprises, to be honest. This is after all where most albums place their singular ballad. I liked the pop instrumentation of Mirror and enjoyed the vocals, but I wouldn’t go to the length in saying it is their best. Mirror also has a nice melody that closes out the album on a soft and soothing note, especially after all the energetic and fun songs that preceded it. (8/10)

Overall Album Rating – 8.1/10

Crazy In Love Teaser Image

2 thoughts on “[Album Review] Crazy In Love (1st Studio Album) – ITZY

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s